Skip to content

Reports from the doctor visit

May 19, 2007
by

I’m back! Had a computer free day yesterday. Met the first of two Medical oncologists Thursday. I’m not sure I like her. Felt very demoralized after the appointment. Took till the middle of yesterday to shake it. Thought not sure that I would like her as a doctor, I am going to proceed, through her office to have some blood work and a PET scan next Thursday.

Here is some of what she said. I have stage three cancer. I had 5 positive Lymph nodes. The cut off for stage 2 is 4 nodes. she said that if the PET scan is negative, (please pray that it is) She recommends a 4 month chemotherapy treatment involving three of there most potent drugs. Once every two weeks. Eight treatments. And hormone therapy.

She said that if I do nothing I have a slightly better then 50% chance of recurrance. If I do everything that she suggests, I lower that rate only to 25%

If the PET is positive, she seemed to say that the treatment is not as aggressive. I felt that her attitude was that there would be little that they could do. Perhaps that is true. Happily, I was not the only one in the room who had this perception. Ruth said it sounded like palliative care. I would rather do other things if they are palliative other than chemotherapy. There are limits to the type of treatment that they offer. And they never ever address the underlying reasons for the cancer in the first place anyway.

There has been some encouraging news, though not from this source. Ruth was speaking with a doctor friend of hers who had just returned from a conference concerning complementary and alternative medicine. He told her that if this were a member of his family, he would have them do the PET scan, and have intravenous Vitamin C treatments. It seems that iv Vit C is getting the same results as chemotherapy. Tim has been able to find lots of documentation about this and I have not had time to read it yet.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah Gilchrist permalink
    May 20, 2007 1:13 pm

    Liz,

    I’ve finallly remembered to check your blog. I appreciate the ability to find out more about what you’re going through and also about your beautiful spirit (not a surprise).

    I’m wondering what rubs you the wrong way aobut your doc? I think feeling at one with the doc is extremely important for the healing process and encourage you to get a second opinion. The regimen sounds difficult, but maybe it’s for the best. I look forward to seeing you at rehearsals (perrhaps tonight?), and I hope that you can keep a singing focus, after the Bach concert, to keep your spirit engaged that way. It may prove useful.

    I think about you frequently, and try to send positive energy, for what it’s worth!

    -Sarah

  2. Liz permalink*
    May 21, 2007 7:25 am

    Sarah – Look at you! on the blog!
    My sense about the doc was that she did not expect me to get well. I know that sounds harsh. That is what my gut told me.
    I think that she is competent and has been recommended by my surgeon, whom I like. I’ll keep looking and make decisions after i’ve met all the players.
    Last night was so much fun! I love the dancing rhythms of the Back. I’m pleased that more and more of it is falling into place. so much fun!
    See you Tuesday

  3. peggy Reaves permalink
    May 21, 2007 9:59 am

    what a blessing it is to be able to get updates on you without having to bother you with phone calls back and forth. We are praying daily: for direction and clarity and wisdom. We are so grateful for Tim and his love and Godly support as you BOTH go through this process. Love, Peggy.

Leave a Reply

