Skip to content

Welcome!

April 25, 2007
by

A Message from Liz:

Welcome to our first blog! We are starting this blog (with a lot of help) as a way to give everybody who wants to know what is going on, a way to do so.

I was told in April that I have breast cancer. An intimidating diagnosis. Realizing that I will need to have help, and not be able to make as many phone calls as would be needed to keep everybody informed as would want to be, starting a blog seemed like a great idea.

I want this site to do many things, First of all, to keep you informed about how surgery, treatment, and that sort of stuff are going. Secondly, and in many ways more important to me, is as a way for you to share with me things like what your favorite funny movies are and other encouraging (funny) things.

I think that it is important to keep an upbeat and thankful perspective. I don’t mean pretentiously cheerful, just not all the doom and gloom. I am, after all, alive!

I have three major interests right now. Singing, knitting, and anything funny. Movies, jokes, cartoons-you know what to do! Send them in! Tell me about the best funny movies (I’ve always wanted to join Netflix and now is my chance). Send me jokes and funny stories and cartoons.

On June 2nd, I will sing the Bach Mass in B Minor. It’s a beautiful, and complex work (and an excellent reason for a field trip to Washington DC), so come see the concert at beautiful Strathmore Music Center.

And, I am learning to knit. I’m doing a lot better than I remember doing as a child!

I think this will also have a more practical side. I’m not sure what kind of help I may need. I am not in the habit of asking for much help. I guess I may have to get over that! I’m not sure, at this point, where I may need help doing things like laundry (I do mine at a local Laundromat), cooking, cleaning, driving to doctor and treatment appointments, and rides to rehearsals. I will know more after April 30th.

I love and need you all. I need and appreciate your prayers for healing—indeed for a miracle. Please put me on as many prayer lists in churches etc as you wish. You don’t have to ask my permission and I would like to know because I will find it encouraging.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2007 9:28 am

    Liz,

    thanks for checking in though I would just as soon you had turned up with better news.
    intiimidating to say the least.

    but one good blog deserves another (or, in your cast, a good one like yours deserves a bad one like mine). the the link is

    http://www.livejournal.com/~15_the_circle

    which started out as a chronicle of cottage renovations but somewhere along the way turned into a photo blog.

    hang in there, think good thoughts, and be encouraged. I know lots of people who have beaten this rap and am expecting that you will, too.

    wishing you the absolute best,

    — George

  2. April 28, 2007 9:29 am

    Liz: I don’t know ANYTHING about blogs! I have trouble with the 2 I have tried to read (yours being the second one)! But, I just want to say that you and Tim are on my heart and both of you are in the Throne Room everyday because I talk to Jesus about you so much. You are so precious to us and to God. KNOW that you are being bathed in prayer. I love you.

    Blessings,
    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

